Framing the Dialogue

Spycatcher

In his debut thriller, Matthew Dunn introduces us to Will Cochrane an elite MI6 operative code named Spartan.  Dunn is a former MI6 field officer himself so that gives him some credibility regarding the spy game and his first novel was thrilling though not quite up there with Daniel Silva and Brad Thor yet.  The action is there, the intrigue is there, and he has developed a very good hero in the vein of Scot Harvath and Gabriel Allon.  I think the title of the book, Spycatcher, is a little misleading though since the book is more about trying to stop a terrorist plot though spies are involved. What I like about the Will Cochrane character is that he is different than the more well known characters mentioned above. He is similar in his determination and skill, but he is different.

I like that the story was written from the perspective of the hero; we get to know him.  I look forward to enjoying many more books from this new author.  Hopefully he has installed some of the fancy protective measures around himself as he is unique in that he is using his real name perhaps making him a target.

Leave a comment

Use basic HTML (<a href="">, <strong>, <blockquote>)